Homeland Security

Task Force Description

Mission Statement

The Homeland Security Task Force will operate as a venue for state legislators and local elected officials to share best practices, learn from industry experts and academics, and discuss model policies.

The Task Force will engage state and local leaders on a variety of topics, including

  • Cybersecurity;
  • School security;
  • Emergency and disaster preparedness, such as preparing for hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, wildfires, and other natural disasters;
  • First and emergency responders;
  • State security funding;
  • Innovative technology solutions for state and local security issues;
  • Border security (airports and ports of entry); and
  • Critical infrastructure security

The Task Force will have three subcommittees, which will be subcommittees of the whole. Those subcommittees include:

  • First Responders and Disaster Relief
  • School Security
  • Consumer Protection, Critical Infrastructure and Security Technologies
  • Joint subcommittee with the Task Force on Communications & Technology


Who Will Be Invited to Participate?

All public sector ALEC members are invited to participate. All existing ALEC Task Forces have a homeland security component. The Task Force will try to avoid scheduling conflicts with other Task Forces.

All public sector American City County Exchange (ACCE) members will also be invited to participate. Local elected officials have the responsibility to help plan, prepare, and respond to emergencies.

Future Growth

Areas of growth and future expansion include network security and data protection, threats to infrastructure and ways to mitigate those threats, concerns of all types of first responders and funding.

Meeting Information

VIEW AGENDA - Red#d9544f - Lato 14pt bold REGISTER HERE- Red#d9544f - Lato 14pt bold BOOK YOUR ROOM - Red#d9544f - Lato 14pt bold

All Model Policies

  • Statement of Principles to Inform Emergency Management Acts Final

    Section 1. Preamble: WHEREAS, the COVID-19 pandemic has revealed flaws in and weaknesses of the emergency management policies in place in many states in the United States; and WHEREAS, one of the most significant flaws inherent in many state emergency management laws is a reduction of, to the point of …

  • Statement of Principles on School Safety and Security Final

    Summary The American Legislative Exchange Council recognizes the presence of violence every day in America‚Äôs schools. This school-based violence, much of it committed by our youth, speaks volumes about the current state of the world and our country today. School-based violence occurs in all communities, urban, suburban, rural and small …

+ All Homeland Security Model Policies

Recent Related Articles

+ More Articles