State Tax Cut Roundup: 2014 Legislative Session

by Kati Siconolfi, Will Freeland, Ted Lafferty, Ben Wilterdink & Jonathan Williams


Fourteen states cut cut taxes in the 2014 legislative year, with a trend of traditionally blue states cutting taxes, according to a new report by the Center for State Fiscal Reform at the American Legislative Exchange Council. The tax policy changes enacted by states reflect an emphasis on pro-growth reforms that encourage economic expansion and competition.

Of the 14 states that cut taxes during the 2014 legislative year, many states were repeat tax cutters: Kansas, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Florida, Indiana and Ohio all significantly reduced taxes in both the 2013 and 2014 legislative sessions. Meanwhile, Minnesota, New York, Rhode Island and Maryland all enacted reductions to death taxes in the form of increasing the amount of income exempted from the tax. The full list of states are:

Arizona, Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota,

Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Wisconsin

To download a full copy of the report, please click here.

Previous Tax Cut Roundups

2013 Edition

More in "Tax Cut Roundup"

+ All Publications in Tax Cut Roundup